Rib

Posted: January 6, 2010 in Commentary, For brothers, Poetry

Paul Coughlin says that Christian songwriters need to “take the gloves off” and treat the Song of Solomon as the masculine love poetry that it is, without “spiritualizing” it. I agree. I cannot write either music or song; but I can come up with good verse from time to time, and so I have. It was not written in tribute or memory of anyone but it does come out of my experience as a previously married man.

I’ve made this posting because I have the sense from my experiences in the Evangelical world that some think that the idea of physical attraction is itself something wrong, or sinful — shades of gnosticism. My theory is that deep down we know that physical attraction is very powerful, and we are not sure of the capacity of our Christian lives, or of the working of the Holy Spirit within us, to channel and direct this attraction. Thus the conflicted thinking. I thought I would celebrate that God given aspect to our manly characters.


Rib


A missing piece of soul and mind, and
Echoes of Eden’s Gate. A return to the place
of dance. The secret place, a strand
‘twixt God’s ocean and their beach, His Grace
as well. Given for them and meant to be grand;
These hands on the latch of the other’s soul.
Trust and rest for the warrior bride; for her man
A place of wholeness and feeling whole.
They feel, in honesty, with the night above
Communion with three (the strongest cord) and
The weight and excellent honor of love.
No sorrow or shame in having one’s fill.
Eagle and rose and thorn and dove,
at the place of union, expressed in full.

Comments
  1. Ame says:

    loved this piece the first time i read it … love it still.

    how sad the church tries to deny the existance of God in the denial of His creation, as it is. my new husband, having not been indocrinated by ‘traditional, legalistic, church’ has been healing to my soul.

  2. The church is afraid of sex. It’s afraid of Christian woman who wear anything out of a Frederick’s of Hollywood catalog or who prance around the bedroom squealing with delight, “I’ll never be yours, you evil pirate!!” That fact that I even mentioned these things will cause some to doubt my purity and spiritual maturity. The Songs of Song is a positive celebration of sexuality, but you are not supposed to read it or think about the ramifications of it. Sex must only be regard in some abstract, disembodied way like “classical recursion theory”.

Leave a Reply

