Spiritual Tyranny

Posted: February 26, 2010 in Other people's writing

I have added to the blogroll spiritualtyranny.com. Great site.

I’d like to call your attention to this posting, “Wolf Religion” – which deserves its own Credo. As well as this gem, “Listen.”

More specific essay links to come, I am sure. Spend some time there. Don’t get a bug in your ear if some of this is hard to parse out or offensive to some of your suppositions. Just come on back to it in a month or so and revisit the matter.

Are you familiar with “Parkinson’s Law?” Some of the abusive church practices this blogger is speaking to are living examples of this meme at work. I just threw that vocabulary word of the day into the mix because my affection for you, reader.

Comments
  1. Ame says:

    “(Do you want to know why you don’t have an extraordinary sense of community? Why you can’t seem to find people that connect with you on intimate covenantal levels? It is because you listen with an agenda. People don’t feel safe to be transparent with you.)”

    excellent.

    if one more person tells me that the church is my ‘family,’ i think i’m gonna punch them and watch the blood flow from their nose.

    family are those who are there for you and with you – good and bad. i have yet to experience that in a church setting.

    i cannot tell you the numbers of times my friends have ditched me for their families – their blood-related-families. i would be a wealthy woman if i had even a pennance for all these times. yet, as believers, they want to call me “family?!”

    maybe … if they listened to me …. ….. …….

  2. Ame says:

    wolf religion … describes my ex and his parents. wow.

  3. LadyElaine80 says:

    This deeply grieves and saddens me….and I am a complete loss as to what to do. I desire not only to be a safe person, but to be a person who can also receive correction and/or disagreement without it turning into a hate fest. (Please note that I am very much in agreement with the author’s post on wolf religion). I know (and have had some experience) with wolves that he speaks of.

    But what are the options here? Is it to completely avoid any attempts at community with Christians and to categorize the bulk of them as wolves? Is it to look down on others for their inability to see wolves for what they are and walk on by as they are devoured by them?

    ame:
    My eyes are tearing up as I read your response. I’m so sorry you were abandoned like that. I want to move beyond simple sympathy, and I want to help…but how do I do that without causing more pain for the wounded?

Leave a Reply

