The Carnivore

Posted: July 31, 2010 in For sisters

This might have been a “Credo” if it were not so self obvious, but reflection on the matter tells me I should make this observation, which I’ve tagged “for sisters” since more of them may need to reflect on this:

It’s not a sin to eat meat. It’s not a sin to hunt animals and kill them.

I was once strongly attracted to a Vegan; it didn’t work out as it happened. She had her issues; one of them was the idea that the worth of animals in the Grand Scheme of Things were such that raising them and killing them for food had moral dimensions. I’ve interacted with a professional woman, a Pharmacist, on Christian Cafe who was quick to tell me that she followed the “dietary laws” that the bible commanded (apparently she never got to the Book of Acts). I have a dear female friend whom I have corresponded with at least weekly for ten years with who thinks I am being a “poor steward” for killing the groundhogs who despoil my garden.

It is unseemly to even have to comment on this; this is a blog for singleXtianmen, few of whom have issues with a pork chop. But I get traffic here from search terms entered by women, so I avail myself of the bandwidth and bid the Vegans to drop the moral issues and the Enviro-ladies to reckon that all things in the earthly cosmos have their place.

All that being said, if you are a SXM who lives in North America, you should probably not eat as much meat as you do if you are typical. This is for reasons of optimizing your health, not your soul. Taking Omega-3 supplements will help mediate this if you can’t break free of your steak habit like myself.

Comments
  1. The Librarian says:

    Mmm…. grilled ribeye last Saturday. I would like to note that there are dietary kooks on both sides of the gender divide. I’ve run into a few hemp-wearing Birkenstock fellows who took the moral high ground when it came to my enjoyment of a good BLT sandwich.

  2. Badger says:

    Now that I’ve been pulled into this blog…I’m no diet evangelist but I think a lot of Americans would benefit from a higher meat diet. Some of why I say that is because people tend to replace meat in their diets with starches and grains instead of with beans and greens. For me personally, it’s easiest to eat healthy when I’m eating a high-meat menu. I’m still a sucker for chips and salsa though. YMMV.

    As for omega 3, my understanding is that the grain-fed meat on the mainstream market today is high in omega 6 and low in omega 3 (grass-fed meat is the opposite), so anybody who’s not eating farmer’s market-style meats should take supplements anyway.

    As to the point of the post, I find Christians moralizing about animal rights to be a bit unbalanced. People that concerned about animal rights should find a non-Christian faith community more in line with their values instead of trying to fork off an animal rights koinonia. If we’re not supposed to eat animals, why did God make them out of meat?

Leave a Reply

