Yoga

Posted: October 21, 2010 in Commentary, Other people's writing

Read John Immel’s PWNing of Al Mohler. It matters to you because of a) the intellectual and spiritual dry-rot in contemporary Evangelical thought – let’s bawl in fear because of people doing Pilates by another name – and b) you will probably interact with a single Christian woman or two who, hopefully, is learning to be flexible.
—-
Edit: Take this to mean what it says; I am commenting on stretching, breathing, and contemplation. I do not mean to wink at attempts to syncretize pagan and Christian thought; nor minimize the significance of attempting to manufacture “spiritual” experiences; whether that is by Pentecostal hand-clapping rounds, Baptist pulpit-pounding and shreiking, chanting, or many practices found in Transcendental Meditation. I mean to point out that people who have the Holy Spirit in them do not need to be afraid. John’s link correctly points out the absurdity of, say; saying that the “missionary position” in bed for a married couple’s sex life is rendered pagan by virtue of being mentioned in the Kama Sutra. Another example would be the military posture of “parade rest” — is this demonic because it mimics something found in classical yoga movements?

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Good post and edit…(lol, I was going to comment las night but thought I’d let my own thoughts coalesce better…)

    I was going to say that I agree with much of what you say and simply add that on the other hand, those that don’t understand the backgrounds of those practices run the risk of agreeing to and practicing and mixing philosophies.

    As an example I had a student who was studying iridology (complete quackery) and in the conversation I was having with her she kept bringing up things such as chi and “life force”. When I asked her to elaborate all she could reference were the esatern philosophies that had no place in Christian belief. She had no clue that much of what she was agreeing with was completely antithetical to Christian beliefs. When I showed her what those were indicating, she had been clueless and unfortunately, clung stubbornly to trying to mix them.

    It’s an interesting contrast. There are those who misapply knowledge (“yoga is bad”) and those that remain ignorant and accept too much.

  2. The Librarian says:

    I went to a new yoga class last night, and the soundtrack for the pre-class quiet time was a lovely rendition to music of the Lord’s Prayer. We were not requested at any time to empty our minds or contemplate our chakras… but instead, asked to quiet our minds and be in the moment, breathing into the movement. For those of us with grasshopper thought processes, yoga can be a great tool to help us settle our minds and focus on the task at hand, as well as good exercise.
    I’ve had a few people gasp in horror when I mention my trip to India and observation of Hindu temple rituals, and that I wore a bindi, as though that meant I had been forcibly converted, or seduced, to Hinduism. Ummm… not so much, in the same way that a Jewish friend going to church with me and observing Communion is not a Christian simply because she saw me sipping wine and eating a rather dry wafer.

  3. singlextianman says:

    I have spoken recently with a woman, nominally Christian, who visited Turkey, and so in the course of her travels wore a kerchief on her head so she could visit the interior of a Mosque. …And we have this discussion less than two months away from that Holiday wherein we put .. umm… Trees in our houses.

Leave a Reply

