Credo #73: A woman is desirable

Posted: December 3, 2009 in Credo, For brothers

I hadn’t thought of making this a Credo, or even that there was a need to for that matter, since I’ve never bought into the shame-inducing notion that there was something “wrong” with one for being attracted to women. I have, however, like many young men brought up in church, been exposed to this guilt-by-osmosis crapola.

It so happens that conversations between myself and Genuinerisk and seeing a comment over at Amir’s suggests to me that this idea needs to be elevated to a Credo. Pastors who guilt-monger about this need to be walked up to with a supersoaker and given the business; or at least hit with a big nerf bat.

Again, it is not humorous to molest God’s young men with corrupted teaching. It is not a small matter at all.

Comments
  1. Ame says:

    i grew up in an environment where it was ‘dirty’ for a woman to be desirable. i think the sexual abuse from my dad played into that a LOT … growing up on the beach in florida … some other things. but i think that i’m very recently in my life learning that the beauty of a woman, or more specifically, my beauty, is not ‘dirty’ or ‘nasty’.

  2. pausebetween2notes says:

    essence of a woman is beauty…beauty is from God and how can that be a sin…. so sad when the world takes what’s beautiful and wholesome and turn it to trash, but what is worse when the family of believers give their own spin on it…just read songs of solomon for what is represents…love between man and woman and the analogy of God’s love for us.

Leave a comment